top of page

Welcome

Dear All,

Welcome to my site! I've created this site for teachers of English as a foreign language but everyone is welcome!

I am going to post some practical ideas about how to use talk show snippets during your lessons to develop your students' skills.

Here's a short summary of why I think it is worth using these shows:

First and foremost, these shows are cultural products: by taking them to the classroom, you can get your students acquainted with a part of English or American culture.

Secondly, these shows offer a wide variety of authentic language: you can use them to kick off discussions in many different topics.

Thirdly, there's the fun part of it: these shows are designed to entertain people - showing funny videos in your lesson is the easiest way to please your students.

Here's another motivating factor: these shows are full of celebrity guests, and there are hardly any teenagers who wouldn't have celebrity role models! Find out who their favourites are (no worries, I'll help you with that) and use an interview with that person during the next lesson. Their engagement is guaranteed!

Finally, these shows are not only entertaining but they are also extremely relevant as they usually treat current events - and it's needless to say that bringing the "now" into your classroom has numerous benefits.

Talk show excerpts can be accessed from all over the world thanks to Youtube! As a teacher, it's really worth subscribing to some talk show channels. (I'll write about them later.)

So, in what follows, I will share some tips with you about how I'm using these extracts in my own lessons. Let's start the show! :)

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page